Roasted Eggplant, Heirloom Tomato & Mozzarella With Lardo & Fresh Herbs

I’ve been on the road for nearly seven months now. Which made cooking… different and set CookingforBello into hibernation mode. I will fully admit, I used to read blog posts that started with “It’s been a while since I posted” and almost immediately thought “really?”

Well I get it now. Life changes and so to do blogs. For the most part, as I became a Nomad, I started a project with my Husband. I am now blogging daily on ALOR. If you care to join me there, I’d be honored.

While keeping up two blogs is not possible consistently for me, there are just some things that have to be shared. A recipe for Lardo is one of them. A recipe for Roasted Eggplant, Heirloom Tomato & Mozzarella With Fresh Herbs & Lardo is definitely one of them!

Note: This is a recipe that helps you use any that little bit of Lardo left from another recipe. You won’t need much. The idea is to lightly cover your vegetables with strips of Lardo that will melt. Oh trust me, I know! If you end up buying Lardo just to try this and melt it over all sorts of other things later, feel free to blame me.

Roasted Eggplant, Heirloom Tomato & Mozzarella With Lardo & Fresh Herbs

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 45 Minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Eggplant, Heirloom Tomato & Mozzarella Stacks Roasted with Lardo and Fresh Herbs
Eggplant, Heirloom Tomato & Mozzarella Stacks Roasted with Lardo and Fresh Herbs

Ingredients: 

  • 2 Tablespoons of chopped fresh herbs Try: Rosemary, Thyme and Oregano
  • 4 Strips of Lardo
  • 1 Medium Eggplant sliced into 1/4 inch rounds
  • 1 Heirloom Tomatoes sliced into 1/4 inch rounds
  • 8 oz Fresh Mozzarella sliced into 1/4 Inch rounds

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400
  2. Layer alternate slices of eggplant, mozzarella and tomato in an oven safe baking dish
  3. Place baking dish in oven for 30 minutes
  4. Remove and sprinkle fresh herbs evenly over the layers
  5. Lay strips of Lardo evenly spaced over layers
  6. Place dish back in oven for 10 minutes or until the Lardo melts
  7. Remove from oven and prepare yourself with fork
  8. Fight for the last bite

The Quick Backstory:

My newfound love for Lardo started while traveling in Rome where we had the worlds most decadent Charcuterie plate.  I was instantly hooked. By the time we made it to Bardonecchia in Northern Italy nearly two months later, I had a proper kitchen and a bad craving for Lardo.

Well, one thing led to another and Lardo was bought at Eataly. I’m not going to say by who. Ok, yes, yes it was me. I know, I know! Not really wise for health’s sake, but oh was it good!

Once the rather ubiquitous but insanely delicious Lardo melted on hot bread was finished, I realized I needed a second idea. How to use Lardo?

Lardo Melted on Warm Bread
Lardo Melted on Warm Bread

I thought about the better question, what is Lardo? There came my answer. Lardo being pig fatback cured with salt, spices and herbs like rosemary is what cooks for centuries have relied on to make dishes tasty. Salty fat.

Thus, my experiments with veggies and Lardo began. Bello ran a lot those days. I wonder why?

Have a question, thought or comments, share here!

