Lone Wolves Are Never Popular: On Declining Liebster & Sunshine Awards

Is it ever a good idea to decline an award? After being nominated for both the Liebster and the Sunshine Blogger Awards, it is a question I’ve taken some time to mull over.

My answer is, yes. For me it’s a good idea to decline the award. 

As I’m not one to ignore a kindness, I’ll explain my decision. It has nothing to do with you as a Blogger. I swear, it’s me, not you. Does that sound like we’re breaking up? I hope not and here’s why.

It’s the “conditions” of the Blog awards that I am declining. Not your kind words, or the spirit with which the nomination was given.

For me, declining is staying true to who I am, an Introvert, a Lone Wolf and a person who has trouble following rules I don’t agree with.

For those not familiar, Liebster and Sunshine Blogger awards come with rules. If you choose to accept the award, you must:

  1. Answer questions about yourself
  2. Nominating 11 or so other Bloggers
  3. Require them answer questions and nominate other Bloggers
  4. Display the Award on your site

I might be a rebel without a cause but I don’t like rules anymore than I do asking other Bloggers to play along for the sake of the game.

There have been times in the past when I wanted to turn down awards but could not. Like Coaches Choice award on my High School Basketball team two years running. Coaches Choice? Really Coach, not like MVP, Teammate of the Year or even Most Improved?!

I get it Mr. Crosby, I was a good kid and a solid Basketball player. You respected that and thought Coaches Choice was an Honor, I was so embarrassed. See, Introvert! And you guessed it, also not very popular.

By our very nature, Lone Wolves are never popular. 

Wether it was because we were bullied, naturally introverted, socially awkward or oppositional defiant people, going our own way, while unpopular, is simply more comfortable. I’ve trusted my gut my entire life. I do what I think is right for me. In the end, it’s not always the right thing and sometimes success takes me longer than others. Yet, this is my path, the very path that took me to New York and to my Husband.

I found my mate in another Lone Wolf. As a Photographer and Artist, he captures my solitude, tells me it’s beautiful, a sign of strength. With his support, I will continue to walk this path in life and together, we will see where it leads.

Superheros by Paolo Ferraris Colors
Superheros by Paolo Ferraris Colors
More Stories of Stubborn StrengthSquidy Bits, A Plea Let Travel Change You, The Power of Being Debt Free, How We Afford 90 Days On the Road

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you, Bello’s art is truly moving. He sees beauty in all.

      Liked by 1 person

Have a question, thought or comments, share here!

