A Traveling Cook’s Kitchen Essentials

As Bello and I hit the road for 90 days, there is one thing outside of family and friends that I know I will miss, cooking. This long on the road traveling internationally, I had to pack up my tools in storage and it honestly killed me a little bit.

Trapped in a box in storage, not a lemon to slice in sight, my beloved knives must be weeping. So in their honor, I am sharing a quick post on my Traveling Cook’s kitchen essentials.

Over the years I have gotten extremely inventive while cooking on the road. I’ve even been known to throw down a mean coffee pot pasta, what it’s possible!

When staying in AirBNBs or Hotel rooms equipped with kitchens, most of the must-have kitchen items are provided. I can work with inexpensive tools when it comes to:

  • Pots
  • Pans
  • Mixing bowls
  • Cutting boards
  • Black plastic spoons

For me though, there is one set of tools that make a huge difference while cooking and that’s my knives!

I think of cheap knives like puppy teeth, super sharp… new, yet quickly loose their edge with age. 

When it comes to cooking on the go, my essentials list is small. So small it rolls into one slick kit.

  • Global knives
  • 2 wooden spoons
  • 2 spatulas
  • 1 Microplane grater (citrus/cheese)
  • Citrus press
  • Immersion blender and cup

These are my true essentials, added to stray cookery items left behind by vacationers/management, I’m good!


Dear Knives,

I miss you already. One by one over the years, I saved to buy you each, adding you to my must-have collection. In return you’ve served me well, stayed sharp and prepared many dishes. I promise you my knives, one day… one day we will come off the road you and I.

When that day comes, together we will work in a dream kitchen, next to a stove worthy of sitting beside you, maybe even this sweet purple number we’ve had our eye on.

Pretty sharp right!

Yours in Color,

Piccola

Ranges

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post! I NEED to travel with a French press.

    Like

    1. I hear you there! Have you seen/tried the AeroPress?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow! Just checked it out. Thank you so much for keeping my caffeine addiction alive. I will have to get one. To be fair, the French press I have at the moment is very well travelled and could do with retirement. Thanks again for the heads up.

        Like

      2. We were impressed. Filters are needed where you don’t have to have them for French Press. Still you can make a mighty strong brew and the lack of glass is comforting, easy to clean.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes. Smashing the glass is always a worry when packing the French press.

        Like

  2. Rice N Dine says:

    That purple oven is a complete standout. Your kitchen essentials sound interesting. We have juts moved in our current apartment and we have do admit – we do not have impressive kitchen equipment, just decent ones. This post made me inspired to work even harder so we can finally have all these! As always, thank you Piccola! 🙂

    Like

    1. It took me a few good years (well like 10!) to collect my good knives but now that I have them, it’s really about all I need! Fancy equipment is lots of fun, yet there is something very gratifying about creating a great dish with the challenge of few tool. Also makes kitchen cleanup much quicker! Looking forward to getting to a spot with proper wifi so I can follow up on your super sweet Nomination. THANK YOU!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rice N Dine says:

        No problem! Enjoy your trip! 🙂

        Like

      2. We are in heaven so far! Rome and Vieste so far and it’s been inspiring to say the least.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Rice N Dine says:

        Looking forward to your photos! 🙂

        Like

Have a question, thought or comments, share here!

