Pantry Must-Have: Dried Mushrooms

For years I was a little intimidated by dried mushrooms. It’s not something most American’s grew up using. I’d pick up a package in the grocery store and put it back not knowing for sure how to use them, thinking it was FAR more complicated then it is.

It wasn’t until while sitting beside my Husband, flipping through an Italian cooking magazine and hearing “Stop… can we have that!” that I decided to give them a try. Bello, excited by the layered pasta prospect, told me stories of how his Mamma and Nonna loved using dried mushrooms. How can a wife turn down a Husband so sweet and gorgeous when he puts his request that way!

I read through the Mushroom lasagna recipe, stumbling, it was after-all in Italian.  Yet the steps seemed… surprisingly simple. All the sudden, I felt a little silly. If I can figure out a recipe with instructions in a second language I’m strugglingly to learn at 40, then they can’t be that complicated now can they!

Since that initial go, which turned out amazing by the way, I’ve been a dried mushroom convert. Now a days, my pantry is bare if it’s sans fungi. I love them. They are easy, packed with rich, grounded flavors and make a pantry dinner, company worthy.

Plus, not many other ingredients give you a two in one. When you rehydrate dried mushrooms, not only do you get a great fungi to work with, you also get the added benefit of a mushroom “broth.”

It’s this simple:

Add your amazing new find, the humble dried mushroom, to a bowl. Top with boiling water.

Just Add Boiling Water
Just Add Boiling Water

Cover with plastic wrap to create a steam bath of youthful hydration… watch those wrinkles disappear over 20 to 30 minutes. Why, oh why doesn’t this work on MY skin?

Steam Bath
Steam Bath

What you’re left with is a two for one. Hydrated mushrooms and a rich broth. That’s it, you’re ready to cook.

Hydrated Mushrooms + Broth
Hydrated Mushrooms + Broth

The possibilities are as limitless as your imagination. Buon Appetito

Dishing Ideas: Smoked Salmon with Lemon Vinaigrette, Grilled Caesar Salad, Put an Egg on It, Cream of Mushroom and White Bean Soup

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Rice N Dine says:

    I also don’t use dried mushroom because I honestly don’t know where to put them. Will be looking at your blog for possible recipes. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Like

    1. I will make sure to send you a link. I think it’s time to make that lasagna my Husband loves anyway. Risotto, frittata, omelet, pastas and meatless Bolognese are my favorites. Pretty much anywhere you would use mushrooms cooked is fair game!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rice N Dine says:

        I’ll look forward to that recipe of yours. Mushrooms sounds a good addition to the food you mentioned. I’ll also let you know when I get the chance to try them with the dried mushroom. Again, thaaaaanks! 🙂

        Like

      2. Rice N Dine says:

        Thank you! Looking at it now! 🙂

        Like

  2. Love this! I am such a fan too!

    Like

    1. Have you tried them in either of your lovely curry soup recipes? Those look SO GOOD!

      Like

Have a question, thought or comments, share here!

