All Else Fails, Roast an Onion

Ever find a recipe so simple, easy and yet so tasty it changes your entire opinion on an ingredient. That happened to me recently, with always on hand humble red onion. I don’t mind left overs and thankfully now my Husband doesn’t either. My rule of thumb to get an Italian man’s buy in on second day dishes… never just reheat and eat, recreate and add a new side dish.

With very little left in the kitchen one night except pasta left from the night before, I mentally flipped through ideas I had been meaning to try. I kept looking at my scant items and just as my hand reached for the red onion to dice it and create yet another frittata, which by now Bello jokes everything ends in a frittata, I recalled seeing a beautiful photo in Epicurious.

So simple, I nearly missed trying this Roasted Red Onion Flower recipe as I’m not a huge fan of onions by themselves. Now, this simple preparation has since become a staple and although the original recipe calls for 6 onions, it works just as well with one in a smaller baking dish.

Prep is a cinch. Cut the onion 4 times just shy of the root, adding a little olive oil, black pepper, fresh herbs and a bay leaves if you’ve got ’em. After a little heated hands off time in the oven (:40 at 350 degrees) you simply twist the newly forming petals, drizzle with the onion juices now in your pan and pop it back in the oven until it starts to get crispy on the tips (:20 minutes more).

That’s it, in the meantime you can prep the rest of your meal and not worry too much as this humble onion turns into the star of the table. As instructed, I served it with crusty bread and some amazing Humbolt Fog cheese and I was hooked. The sweetness of the red onion intensifies as does the realization you just turned a relatively inexpensive ingredient into a crave worthy dish.

Roasted Red Onion Plated
Roasted Onion Plated

Thankfully, I always seem to have at least one red onion on hand!

More Simple Sides

Zucchini Carpaccio
Zucchini Carpaccio

Zucchini Carpaccio

There is something really gratifying about a side dish that’s quick, cheap, healthy and easy, especially when it impresses as elegant in it’s simplicity.

Get the Recipe

 

 

 

 

Rainbow Potato Salad
Rainbow Potato Salad

Rainbow Potato Salad

Simple, colorful and tasty, rainbow carrots give your potato salad an eye catching twist while a hit of lemon backs up bright array.

Get the Recipe

 

4 Comments Add yours

Have a question, thought or comments, share here!

